Douglas Sirk, melodrama no seu melhor

December 29, 2007 at 10:26 pm (Cinema e TV)

Imitation of Life, Douglas Sirk, 1959

Lora

It’s been five months without a job…

Steve

Then I guess you’ll have to marry me. It’s the least you can do for me for Christmas. I love you.

Lora

But, darling, you’re… you’re just getting started and… It would be foolish.

Steve

At least we would be foolish together.

Lora

But marriage is such a big step.

Steve

I want us to be together.

Lora

Well, we are, most of the time.

Steve

Most of the time you’re out fighting to get somewhere. Breaking your heart, trying to do for yourself and Susie… what I want to do for you, what I finally can do for you. I want to give you a home, take care of you, love you.

Lora

Oh Steve, you don’t know me at all. I still love the theater.

Steve

You tried it and it’s only hurt you. Realize that and you’ll get over it.

Lora

I want to be honest with you, darling. I want more. Everything. Maybe too much.

Steve

Don’t think I want any less. So let’s settle something right now. Do you love me?

Lora

I think I do, but…

Steve

Come here. I want to kiss you so badly.

Lora

But if you did, the way things are right now, I might say something I wouldn’t really mean.

Steve

That’s why I want to kiss you.

Imitation of Life de Douglas Sirk no Nimas

Leave a Reply

